top of page
  • Writer's pictureMechelle

Lemon Butter Spaghetti

Updated: Oct 20, 2018


Lemon butter is one of THE best flavors that I like with my pasta. Matter of fact I like it on everything: chicken, fish, vegetables, etc. I find the flavor to be zesty, fresh, subtle and elegant. This recipe combines the lemon butter flavor and garlic with the light taste of yellow squash. As a teen, this dish reminds me of the meatless meals I would often make where I used angel hair (my favorite type) and would stir fry with vegetables and a light sauce. This is a creative way to use leftover pasta and a quick entree option for those busy days.



Prep: 15 minutes (including pasta)

Cook: 15 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes


Ingredients


1.5 cup Spaghetti, precooked

1 cup Yellow squash, chopped

3 scallions, minced

3 Garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp Parsley,freshly minced

1 medium Lemon freshly,squeezed

.5 cup Butter, melted

1 tsp Lemon rind, minced

1 tsp Red Pepper flakes

1 tsp. Garlic & Parsley seasoning

.5 tsp Salt


Prep: Wash and prep all herbs and vegetables. Preheat 1.5 cups of boiling water and add yellow squash. Let boil for 7 minutes or until the inner part of the squash becomes translucent.


Directions:

In a medium heated pan (1 minute), place melted butter, fresh lemon juice, cooked squash, seasonings and herbs. Let simmer for 5 – 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add precooked pasta (I like the density, texture and taste of thin spaghetti with this type of sauce). Stir for 3- 5 minutes, spooning sauce over the pasta and add butter if you need a thinner consistency. Remove from heat and top with garnishes of thinly sliced scallions, minced parsley or cherry tomatoes. You can also top with Romano or Parmesan cheese.


Servings 2


4 views
bottom of page